2020 Commodity Commission Elections Wrap Up, New Sorghum Commissioner Terms to Begin April 1

New members for the state’s five grain commodity commissions were elected in early 2020, including the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission. Elections this year comprised USDA Crop Reporting Districts four, five and six. Commissioners serve three-year terms and the terms will commence on April 1, 2020.

District Four: Stephen Bigge is a sixth generation producer in Rooks County with a diversified operation growing sorghum, wheat, cattle, corn, and soybeans. He currently chairs the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission and has a bachelor’s degree in agribusiness from Kansas State University.

District Six: Max Tjaden has been farming in Sedgwick County since 1982 and grows grain sorghum, wheat, and soybeans on a 100% no-till operation. He is a current member of the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission and recently served seven years on the Sedgwick County Farm Bureau Association.

Visit the Kansas Department of Agriculture’s Commodity Commissions page for more information on commission elections and visit KGSC’s Commission Leadership page to find your district’s commissioner.