USDA Seeks Nominees for United Sorghum Checkoff Board

COLWICH, KS— The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) is currently seeking nominees for multiple seats on the United Sorghum Checkoff Board, as a number of terms will be expiring as of December 2023. Each member can serve a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms. The positions to be reorganized, with current board members and their eligibility status, are:

  • Three at-large producers (Ethan Jae Miller, MO; James Haase, CO; Klint Stewart, NE*)
  • One Kansas Producer (Shayne Suppes*)

*Indicates that board members have reached the maximum number of terms served

Kansas Grain Sorghum and Kansas Farm Bureau must submit 2 names to the USDA Secretary of Agriculture for consideration. If any individuals have interest in serving on the board, please let staff know by Friday, April 7. Kansas Grain Sorghum plans to hold a state caucus conference call on Monday, April 10.

For questions and more information, contact the office at 785-477-9474.